Brief History

DBM RO IV-A Brief History 

On 9 October 1986, then Minister of the Budget Alberto G. Romulo signed Office Order No. 160-86 creating what was to be the Department of Budget and Management-Regional Office IV to cater to regionalized agencies (DECS, DOH and SUCs), including LGUs, within the six (6) mainland and five (5) island provinces in the Southern Tagalog region.

Regional Office IV was temporarily house on the third floor of the Bureau of Agriculture Extension Building, Elliptical Road, Diliman, Quezon City in one of the rooms being occupied by the Procurement Service (PS).

Director Reynaldo Abella, with Assistant Director Leonardo Axalan and 23 employees from the Central Office, were among the original staff complement of Region IV. Director Abella, including 19 others, transferred from MO, AD Axalan came from NAO; the others were from TIS, PS, BTS, and FAS. Five more personnel were hired to complement the staffing requirements of the Regional Office.

Director Agripino G. Alvarez, formerly of COA and DILG, succeeded Director Abella who was appointed as DA Assistant Secretary on 8 August 1988. Director Galvez opted to operate from a geographical to a sectoral set up for consistency with the set up in the Regional Offices.

During the term of Director Galvez, DBM-RO IV transferred to a more spacious and conducive working environment, each division having a separate room of its own, as well as a conference area that could accommodate its growing number of clientele. Located at 4/F Bel-Lor Building, 1184 Quezon Avenue, Quezon City, this became RO IV’s home for 10 years.

When Asst. Director Axalan retired on 13 February 1991, Arturo A. Sayao, a division chief from the Budget Operations Bureau, was appointed as OIC-Assistant Director. He was subsequently promoted to full-fledged Assistant Director on 3 January 1992 and was designated as the Officer-in-Charge of the RO from 24 June 1992 to 15 February 1993 when Director Galvez retired on 23 June 1992.

During his tenure, the Assistant Director came from the ranks of Region IV-Julian Ll. Paccificador, Jr., one of the RO’s pioneers.

Julian Ll. Pacificador held the post of OIC-Assistant Director from 16 February 1993 until his promotion to full-fledged Assistant Director on 15 February 1996. He was designated as the OIC-Director from 16 February to 31 May 1990 upon the retirement of OIC-Director Sayao 15 February 1993.

On 1 June 1993, Director Remedios C. Marcos of DBM-CAR assumed the position of Regional Director of Region IV and held the post until her retirement on 8 November 1994. Director Sebastian R. Teves of DBM-CAR replaced Director Marquez effective 9 November 1994 and stayed with RO IV for 3 ½ years. He left the DBM on 22 March 1998 to run for public office.

During Director Teves’ incumbency, Asst. Director Pasificador was designated as OIC-Director of CAR on 7 February 1997. Asst. Director Jovito Vernon Valete took over the post vacated by him. It was on the same month that Region IV transferred to its present address at 2/F PLJ Building, 755 Gen. Solano Street, San Miguel, Manila, just across the main compound of the DBM Central Office.

On 28 March 1998, Directo Julieta C. dela Torre took over the reins of DBM-RO IV. The same sectoral set up was still adopted even though the delegated functions of the Regional Offices were expanded to include the regionalized agencies of DPWH, TESDA, CHED, and the local water districts. When Asst. Director Valente, transferred back to the Central Office to head the Administrative Services, Renato M. De Vera, Chief of Staff of the Office of the Secretary during the term of Secretary Benjamin E. Diokno, was appointed Assistant Director.

In compliance with Executive Order No. 103 dated 17 May 2002, transferring AuroraProvince to Regoin III and dividing Region IV into Region IV-A(CALABARZON) and IV-B(MIMAROPA), Secretary Emilia T. Boncodin issued Office Order No. 2002-307 dated 12 September 2002 to implement the change in coverage and jurisdiction. Office Order No. 2003-149 dated 21 April 2003 implemented the separation when Secretary Boncodin appointed Director Julian Ll. Pacificador to RO IV-A and Director Orlando Garcia to RO IV-B. Director Pacificador assumed the position as Director IV effective 1 May 2003.¹

Effective October 13, 2016, OIC Director IV Ruby Muro and OIC Director III Nympha Manalastas were appointed by authority of Office Order No. 630 s. 2016 to take over from Atty. Pacificador who celebrated his 65th birthday on October 12.

¹From start up to this point entry taken and partially edited from the DBM 70th Anniversary Souvenir Program as written by: Rowena Gonzales, Chief Administrative Officer